Review 1700: #ThirkellBar! Wild Strawberries Recap

Cover for Wild Strawberries

It’s time for our reviews of the second Barsetshire novel, as we read Angela Thirkell’s Barsetshire series in order! In this case, I had already reviewed Wild Strawberries some time ago.

I looked at my original review of Wild Strawberries to see if I have anything to add for this reread. I don’t, except to point out how vividly Thirkell has depicted her characters. Lady Emily, for example, is equally adorable and frustrating. That first scene in church is a comic masterpiece, enough to make even the reader impatient with her, yet her family shows no sign of frustration, only affection. Most of Thirkell’s characters are funny, even our heroine Mary in her childish infatuation with David, and some of them, like managing Madame Boulle or finagling Mr. Holt, are hilarious. Or Agnes, so infatuated with her children that she heartily bores everyone else. Only John remains as the straight man.

I liked this book even more this time through but found the ridiculous errors in my Moyer Bell edition, which didn’t even employ a spell-checker, even more frustrating. Sadly, the Virago edition was not yet out in paperback when I reread this one (now it is).

Related Posts

Wild Strawberries

High Rising

Pomfret Towers

9 thoughts on “Review 1700: #ThirkellBar! Wild Strawberries Recap

  1. This book was delightful and funny and so entertaining. I thought Mr Holt was such a good character but my favourite was Agnes. So frustrating at times and unruffled as she floated through life sympathetic to all but just loving her children. And Lady Emily what a wonderful character. These books are the best.

  2. I’ve got these books on my list. Do you think it is worth reading Trollope’s Barsetshire books first or is there no relation?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.