Nonfiction November: Week Five

This week’s host is Hopewell’s Public Library of Life, and the theme is New to my TBR:

It’s been a month full of amazing nonfiction books! Which ones have made it onto your TBR? Be sure to link back to the original blogger who posted about that book!

I haven’t participated in this event before, and I am not a big nonfiction reader, but I got a lot of ideas during the month for further nonfiction reading. Here are the nonfiction books mentioned this month that piqued my interest. I’m just dividing these up by weeks to give me a little space between cover images.

Books from Week Two

The theme for Week Two was what attracts you to a book, so a lot of people were just showing interesting covers. But even though I don’t think I use covers to attract me to nonfiction books generally, these made me look at a few books more carefully.

I saw A Place for Everything: The Curious History of Alphabetical Order by Judith Flanders posted on She Seek’s Nonfiction‘s page during week two. It sounds right up my alley, and it has a beautiful cover. I hadn’t heard of it before.

Entering the Enchanted Castle had the cover of The Salt Path by Raynor Winn on the post for Week Two. That reminded me that one of my best friends told me about the book, so I put it on my TBR. And again, what a great cover!

I’m sure I’m not the only one to notice what’s going on in our political arena, so when Silver Button Books put the cover of Cultish by Amanda Montell up in Week Two, I immediately added it to my TBR.

Books from Week Three

The theme for Week Three was pairing a nonfiction and fiction book. I admit that in a few cases, the fiction book looked more interesting to me than the nonfiction. However, here were four nonfiction books that struck my interest.

The cover of Shy Love Smiles and Acid Drops that Whispering Gums listed for Week Three as well as its subject matter made me put it right on my TBR. OK, this time I admit picking a nonfiction book for its cover.

Books Please featured a memoir called The Dancing Bear by Frances Faviell for Week Three, and as I love the Furrowed Middlebrow imprint and have read some fiction by Faviell, I’m definitely putting this one on my TBR.

I love Amitav Ghosh, and I was unaware of the nonfiction book he’d written, The Nutmeg’s Curse: Parables for a Planet in Crisis until I saw it on Unsolicited Feedbacks post.

Entering the Enchanted Castle listed The Wild Silence, also by Raynor Winn, and I have to read it because of the cover and because it’s about Iceland.

Books from Week Four

For some reason many of the participants’ choices for Week Four weren’t grabbing me. The theme was Worldview Shapers, and maybe it was because some of participants didn’t really explain much about their choices but just posted their covers. Many of the participants posted several books on one subject, so I felt a little overwhelmed to pick one of them, even if I was interested in it, as I was by the holocaust books and the ones on the aboriginal experience, for example. In any case, Shoe’s Seeds and Stories selected the graphic nonfiction book Ducks by Kate Beaton, which I was already planning to read and in fact have in my pile right now.

19 thoughts on “Nonfiction November: Week Five

  1. I enjoyed Frances Faviell’s other memoir about World War II, A Chelsea Concerto, so I would like to read The Dancing Bear. I haven’t read any of her fiction yet.

    1. Yes, it was interesting. I wish some of the contributors could have said more about their choices, though. Lots of people just showed covers. I wanted to know what they found interesting.

      1. I know what you mean! I tried to explain all mine apart from I suppose my list of the best reads from the past year – but at least I linked to my reviews.

  2. I love that you liked that cover, which was inspired by one of the Heide artists who partly inspired the book. It’s strong isn’t it. Thanks for the link.

    I love the sound of “A Place for Everything: The Curious History of Alphabetical Order” by Judith Flanders. I think I have to read this, because I think order is important … but what sort of order when? And is it always?

    And, you reminded me that I should put Salt back on my TBR!

  3. That’s a pretty extensive wishlist you’ve ended up with! The book about alphabetical order sounds interesting – one of these things I just take for granted and have never really considered that there was a time before it became so commonplace. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it if you read it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.