Review 2260: #ThirkellBar! Three Score and Ten

Three Score and Ten is the last novel of Angela Thirkell’s Barsetshire series, finished by a friend after her death. Could I tell the difference? Maybe.

As I’ve commented before, Thirkell’s later books don’t really have plots, but this book works toward three events—Mrs. Morland’s 70th birthday, a romance for Lord Mellings, and another romance for Sylvia Gould, whom I don’t even remember meeting before.

As usual with the later works, the novel consists of a series of tea parties and dinners, with the Barsetshire Agricultural Show also taking place. Mrs. Morland entertains her grandson Robin because his siblings have the measles, and he is exactly as I remember his father, Tony, as a boy, including behaving several years younger than his age of ten or eleven.

The birthday party gives its author the opportunity to bring in almost everyone who has ever appeared in the series. Several characters who aren’t invited appear in an indignant meeting called because of the intentions of Lord Averfordbury to tear down Wiple Terrace, home of Miss Bent and Miss Hampton and several Southbridge school teachers, and put up a factory.

Could I tell that not all of the novel was written by Thirkell? Not so much, although maybe the conversations at the birthday party are not as clever. Twenty pages, by the way, are devoted to that party, which is about 18 more than were taken for any of the many weddings that appeared in the series (although admittedly most were only mentioned) and about 15 too many.

One more issue that has little to do with the original novel. I think I’ve had occasion to comment about the earlier Moyer Bell editions (all of the post-war novels) that they had a lot of typos. I haven’t mentioned that in a while because they got better, but this book had lots of them, including ones that show the text couldn’t have even been subjected to a spell checker.

Related Posts

Love At All Ages

Close Quarters

A Double Affair

10 thoughts on “Review 2260: #ThirkellBar! Three Score and Ten

  1. I enjoyed the arrival of Robin in this book, and the way his character brought the series full circle in a way, as it began with Mrs Morland at home with Tony and ended with her having Tony’s son to stay. I had completely forgotten about the earlier romance between Sylvia and the doctor, but I have to credit that as another nice throwback to the start of the series. I was glad to see Lord Mellings find his happy-ever-after as well. All in all, I think it was a stronger conclusion to the series than I had anticipated – though I do agree with what you said about the excessive number of pages devoted to the birthday party. I can only assume it was meant to be an opportunity for the reader to say farewell to each and every character.

    1. Well, that’s something I never thought of, the full circle, that is. Not only had I forgotten about the romance between Sylvia and the doctor, I had forgotten Sylvia!

      1. I read The Demon in the House out of order, which I think is where Sylvia first appears, and there’s a funny scene where Tony boasts to her about his swimming abilities that I did remember. I probably would have forgotten her too if I hadn’t read that book more recently than a number of the others, though.

  2. So that’s it then. What a lot of fun it’s been and the ones I was able to get hold of were just splendid. Entertaining and funny.
    So disappointed about those that were just too expensive and/or not available where I am. I think it was only about four in the middle of the series and then the last couple.
    If ever you do another author spotlight let us know as I would love to join in again.

    Thank you!

    1. Penelope, I am not ready to do another author spotlight yet, maybe in a few months, but would you like to plot with me who that author should be? If so, why don’t you send me your email address? Mine is robartkay@sbcglobal.net. We could start talking about it in a few months.

  3. Well done! I admire you getting through them and I agree it’s nice that it’s come full circle with Mrs Morland and now Tony’s son! I expect the Moyer Bell editions were created by scanning another text in and converting it to print without having it checked in the middle stages. Annoying!

  4. These are comments on Three Score and Ten written by Sue that she submitted for another book:

    MY APOLOGIES: I can’t find your post on Three Score and Ten, so I’m including my remarks here. One question: Any thoughts on the cover??? I can’t for the life of me figure out why the cover pictures such an out-of-date young woman. . .

    I finally got my copy of Thirkell’s Three Score and Ten, and I have to say, I enjoyed it. Yes, the first five or six chapters were definitely slow and mostly conversations, and yes, there was some repetitions. However, kudos to the writer who finished this novel, because I really couldn’t find a stylistic change. I enjoyed the references to many of the things from the 1950s: Wodehouse, My Fair Lady, and so on. I also loved her digs at how writers can keep writing the same thing because people want the same thing. (One reason I’m reading more and more nonfiction is that I, as a reader, am tired of the same thing.)

    Wish somebody would record this book: perfect to fall asleep to. Like listening to someone relating the happenings around the ‘hood. . . Again, just what I want fight now.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.