Review 2181: #ThirkellBar! Enter Sir Robert

Enter Sir Robert is the last of the Thirkell Barsetshire books that I read before, so I’ll let my previous review stand as a good plot synopsis and use this post to point out things I noticed this time around.

The ending of this novel made me laugh out loud. I don’t want to give anything away, but I’ll just say that Sir Robert Graham has been referred to in most of the books of the series but has not once appeared. In this novel, he is retiring, and his wife, Lady Agnes, arranges for him to become a church warden and talks about the things he is planning to do. And finally he appears.

Edith, Lady Agnes’s youngest daughter, is the focus of this novel, and although there is no overt romance in this one, because at 17 she’s a bit too young, she meets two delightful young men in their 30’s. (I thought the novel said she was 18, but as she is still 18 for at least the next two books, I’m assuming she is 17 now.) George Halliday is in the difficult situation of running his father’s farm when he knows that his father, who is going downhill in health, would rather run it himself. John Cross is a bank manager leasing a house from the Hallidays.

Toward the beginning of the novel there is an unpleasant little diatribe against foreigners, particularly immigrants, that will strike some chords familiar today, but that’s just a small part of the novel.

Related Posts

What Did It Mean?

Jutland Cottage

Happy Returns

7 thoughts on “Review 2181: #ThirkellBar! Enter Sir Robert

  1. This one, unfortunately, will probably be the last one I’ll read with you unless I find some less expensive copies. I had a little break around the Old Bank House when I could not get copies for under $70/80 and now am back up there with the last three books.
    I have loved reading Angela Thirkell with you and realise that I would probably not have known about her writing without this readalong. Thanks for the effort you have put into it these months.
    If ever you have another read a long I will certainly join you. Best wishes Penny 🤗

    1. I am so sorry that they are so expensive, Penny. Did you look at a site like Abebooks? The shipping might be high, but you could probably get the books from the U. S. for $20. In any case, I have been glad to have you along, too. If you have an idea for a read-along, let me know. I might not want to start one until next year, because this one has been so long, but maybe if we pick something (a shorter series or a single book or author) early, we can drum up more participation before we begin. Thanks so much for reading with me!

    2. Penelope, I’m not sure where you are, but Abebooks has Never Too Late starting at about $20 American with shipping to the U. S. from the U. K. set at about
      $10. If you are in the U. K. the shipping should be a lot less. I don’t know the exchange rate right now, but it can’t be that much. https://www.abebooks.com/servlet/BookDetailsPL?bi=31358422622&searchurl=an%3Dangela%2Bthirkell%26sortby%3D17%26tn%3Dnever%2Btoo%2Blate&cm_sp=snippet-_-srp1-_-title3

  2. Hello again. Yes I had checked Abe books and the book with postage came to $us40. Sounds good but with the converted currency to Australian dollars that’s just on $60. Sorry but just a bit much for me ? The last couple of titles are similar so the sum total too much. I’m on the look out all the time so you never know I might be lucky. When I’m overseas later in the year I will certainly be looking.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.