Review 2051: #1929 Club! Classics Club Spin! Grand Hotel

The first book I chose for the 1929 Club was one that I have long heard of but never read. It was also coincidentally chosen for my Classics Club Spin!

In the 1920’s, the Grand Hotel is the most expensive in Berlin. Staying there are several guests whose lives are going to be changed.

Grusinskaya is a great ballet dancer still at the top of her form. But her clearly classical style has gone out of fashion, and after a lifetime of being alone, she’s very tired.

Kringelein is a poor clerk who has just found out he is dying and wants to experience a few weeks of luxury and “living.”

Doctor Otternschlag is an injured World War I veteran who hangs around the hotel doing nothing. He begins taking Kringelein around Berlin.

Baron Geigern is young, handsome, and personable, but he makes a living as a cat burglar, and he’s after Grusinskaya’s pearls.

Herr Preysing is the general manager of a company there to make a deal who ends up in a mid-life crisis.

Grand Hotel is a zeitgeist novel, very much a product of its time. Baum’s characters show their foibles or redeem themselves. Each one is flawed and complex.

Related Posts

They Were Found Wanting

No More Parades

The Long Take

7 thoughts on “Review 2051: #1929 Club! Classics Club Spin! Grand Hotel

  1. Definitely a book I want to read. I have it on my classic’s list. Always interesting to read stories taking place in a hotel.

  2. The CC spin also gave me my 1929 read!

    I’ve been wanting to read this ever since reading her Love & Death in Bali (1937) whilst holidaying in Bali in 2013. It was such a magnificent, sprawling read completely immersed in Balinese life and the conflict of colonisation, I’m curious to see what else she could do.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.