Review 1761: #ThirkellBar! Pomfret Towers

Cover for Pomfret Towers

It’s time to talk about the sixth book in Angela Thirkell’s Barsetshire series, Pomfret Towers. Who read it and what did you think?

This novel is another one that I reviewed several years ago, so I will not repeat the plot synopsis and review but simply supply a link to the original review.

What struck me this time around was how sweet a story this is, with Thirkell creating characters we like tremendously but not forgetting a couple we can dislike. Yet, she’s subtle about all of this and shows a little sympathy for one of the most irritating characters.

Little Alice, so young and shy, is both a sympathetic character and one who provides some good-natured comedy. For example, her reaction to being invited to Pomfret Towers for the weekend—a terrifying prospect—is to hope the house burns down overnight before she has to go. She is silly and adolescent in her attachment to the odious Julian Rivers and very brave when she finally sees through him.

On the other side is Mrs. Rivers, so full of herself as a Writer of popular novels that sound dreadful, so managing in a house where she is not the hostess, and so irritating in her attempts to throw together her daughter Phoebe and the mild-mannered Gillie Foster, the heir to the earldom. But when she is humiliated by her son at the end of the novel, Thirkell deftly makes us feel sorry for her (but not for Julian).

I liked practically everyone in this novel, even Lord Pomfret, known for his rudeness. Another charming novel by Thirkell.

Summer Half

August Folly

The Demon in the House

4 thoughts on “Review 1761: #ThirkellBar! Pomfret Towers

  1. I really enjoyed Pomfret Towers. I thought Alice was sweet too – and Giles. Sally with her dogs seemed to be silly at first but she turned out to be sensible and likable.

  2. As usual I enjoyed this novel. I read it early in the month and was surprised to see now when I checked that I had only given it three stars. Thinking back it could have been because I felt there were so many characters and so many agendas it did not for me allow any one to be fully realised. I did, however, enjoy it and as usual loved the humour and the setting.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.