My List for Classics Club Spin #28

The Classics Club has announced another spin. How do the spins work? I pick 20 books from my Classics Club list and number them. On October 17, the club picks a number, and that’s the book I will read before December 12, the deadline for this spin. So, here is my list for this spin. This time, I haven’t picked any of the difficult books on my list:

  1. The Castle of Otranto by Horace Walpole
  2. The Mayor’s Wife by Anna Katherine Green
  3. The Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson
  4. Rhododendron Pie by Margery Sharp
  5. The Grand Sophy by Georgette Heyer
  6. Grand Hotel by Vicki Baum
  7. Merkland, A Story of Scottish Life by Margaret Oliphant
  8. Miss Plum and Miss Penny by Dorothy Evelyn Smith
  9. Love’s Labour’s Lost by William Shakespeare
  10. The Dead Secret by Wilkie Collins
  11. Much Dithering by Dorothy Lambert
  12. A Town Like Alice by Nevil Shute
  13. Weatherley Parade by Richmal Crompton
  14. The Moonspinners by Mary Stewart
  15. Iza’s Ballad by Magda Szabo
  16. Music in the Hills by D. E. Stevenson
  17. Tis Pity She’s a Whore by John Ford
  18. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
  19. The Return of the Native by Thomas Hardy
  20. The Saga of Gosta Berling by Selma Lagerlof

22 thoughts on “My List for Classics Club Spin #28

  1. I’ve read a few of those and particularly enjoyed The Moonspinners and The Return of the Native. I hope the spin picks a good one for you!

  2. I’ve only read a few of these – A Town Like Alice, Sense and Sensibility, The Return of the Native and The Grand Sophy – and enjoyed them all, but there are plenty of the others I’d like to read, especially The Black Arrow! Hope you get one you enjoy!

  3. I love Sense and Sensibility, but the Castle of Otranto could be fun and Rhododendron Pie and Miss Plum and Miss Penny sound fun too – good luck!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.