Day 651: Literary Wives! The Last Wife of Henry VIII

Cover for The Last Wife of Henry VIIIAgain, we have a group book review with Literary Wives, where a group of bloggers get together and review the same book about wives on the same day. If you have read this month’s book and would like to participate, leave comments on any of our blogs. Be sure to read the reviews and comments of the other wives!

***

In considering The Last Wife of Henry VIII, I come smack up against the issue I’ve mentioned in the reviews of several historical novels based on the lives of actual people. That is, how an author can make the subject interesting while staying faithful to the events of the person’s life and to the person’s character.

In this novel, Erickson has a fairly clean slate to work with, because Catherine Parr’s life has not been covered as exhaustively as that of other Tudors. Yet it is one thing in historical fiction to invent the details of ordinary life and another to present readers with questionable events. The most obvious of these is to have Parr’s love affair with Thomas Seymour begin while she was still married to John Neville, when to all indications it began after Neville’s death, when she was left a relatively wealthy widow. And, might I add, the unlikelihood that they continued their physical relationship (if they had one) while she was married to Henry VIII. Not in that court and atmosphere, with that history, I’m guessing.

But this is aside from the point that with all this inventing, Erickson still fails to make Catherine Parr an interesting character or her story compelling—despite the fact that it probably was compelling. The actual Catherine was much more capable and influential than Erickson’s character, in fact.

Literary Wives logoWhat does this book say about wives or the experience of being a wife?

First, for the Tudors wives were bargaining chips. The novel depicts Catherine as taking control of her own fate in some of her marriages, but only within limits. That is, in both instances if she hadn’t had another suitor, she would have had to marry the person chosen for her. Within the marriages, the limits to her spheres of action are chosen by her husband unless, as in her marriage to Seymour, she has her own money, which gives her leverage. In three of her marriages, her husband’s activities or relations with her husband’s relatives make her position insecure, so much so in her first marriage that she is left a poor and unprotected widow, at least according to Erickson. I would submit that in actuality, what left her insecure after the death of Henry VIII was more likely her marriage to Thomas Seymour than anything else.

In what way does this woman define “wife”—or in what way is she defined by wife?

Catherine usually tries to do her duty by her husband, whether she loves him or not. The exception is her affair with Thomas Seymour while she was married to John Neville (which I don’t believe actually happened). In the terms of the novel, this is probably supposed to make it more romantic (it doesn’t), but it makes her character less consistent. I would say that for Parr, a wife is dutiful, affectionate, and tries to do the right thing. Her marriage to Henry VIII also shows her as compassionate, capable, and politically astute. Her marriage to Thomas Seymour, on the other hand, shows her as fatuous and besotted, unfortunately the reputation that has survived her. If I can sneak in a comment about stepmothers here, I believe her actual relationship with Henry’s children was much warmer than depicted in the novel.

Related Posts

The Tudor Secret

Bring Up the Bodies

The Marriage Game

8 thoughts on “Day 651: Literary Wives! The Last Wife of Henry VIII

  1. I’m sorry I didn’t read this time around! I love your point about Tudor wives being bargaining chips. It sounds like this was one I would have enjoyed.

    1. I didn’t think it was that great, but maybe some of the others liked it more. Sorry you didn’t have time to read it this time, too! I always find your perspective interesting.

  2. I’m glad you mentioned the fact that Catherine’s relationship with Thomas Seymour seemed out of character. I thought the same thing. With the other men she was married to, and even as a daughter, she was dutiful, smart, and careful. But, with Seymour she throws it all to the wind. It bothered me that she couldn’t see through him, and it bothered me even more to think that her reaction to him may not even be at all accurate.
    I also love what you said about the bargaining chips. It was interesting to see how the marriage thing worked in the days of Henry VIII. I’m just glad I wasn’t there!

    1. I think she actually did make sort of a fool of herself over him. That is fairly well documented. But she would have been a fool to be intimate with him while she was married to Henry, and as far as I know there was no scandal occurring around her time as queen. Also, it seemed out of character for her to be having an extramarital affair while her second husband was ill.

  3. I got as far as the beginning of the affair, and I agree, it was out of character. I was pretty disappointed with what I read, not only because, as you point out, Catherine Parr was probably significantly more interesting than this book makes her out to be, but because I’ve so enjoyed Carolly Erickson’s nonfiction. Sigh.

    And I think considering stepmothers for future Literary Wives reads would be a great idea!

  4. I enjoyed the writing and the book overall. However, this is one of the very few (maybe two total!) books set in this time period I’ve read. It isn’t all that interesting to me, something I addressed in my own review at http://books-n-music.blogspot.com/2015/02/literary-wives-13.html. Glad to know I wasn’t the only one who felt the extra-marital affair was incongruous with her; I was very disappointed in that aspect. Reading about women during these times is depressing for me. Though I admire any of them who managed to not only survive, but also thrive! Wow… I did appreciate the way both Catherine and Will helped Anne, though I was very sorry to see her die…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.