Classics Club Spin #8!

Cover for The MoonstoneIt’s time for another Classics Spin! I have put together a list of 20 books from my Classics Club List. On Monday, the Classics Club will pick a number between 1 and 20, and the number they pick determines the book that I will read from the list below. I’ll read that book and review it on January 5!

  1. Don Quixote by Miguel Cervantes
  2. The Vicar of Wakefield by Oliver Goldsmith
  3. Henry VI, Pt. I by William Shakespeare
  4. A Wreath of Roses by Elizabeth Taylor
  5. Beloved by Toni Morrison
  6. Red Pottage by Mary Cholmondeley
  7. Sisters by a River by Barbara Comyns Carr
  8. That Lady by Kate O’Brien
  9. Greenbanks by Dorothy Whipple
  10. The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro
  11. Ada by Vladimir Nabokov
  12. Selected Poems by Robert Frost
  13. Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
  14. The Call of the Wild by Jack London
  15. Night by Elie Wiesel
  16. Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier
  17. The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins
  18. The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  19. Troy Chimneys by Margaret Kennedy
  20. Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray

14 thoughts on “Classics Club Spin #8!

  1. I am so glad you posted about this! I am so terribly behind on every blog I read (not to mention my own) that I would have missed the Classics Club post! Which one are you hoping to get?

    1. I just happened to look at the Classics Club yesterday to post a book I had read. Otherwise, I wouldn’t have known either! It is so much harder to remember to look them up in my reader or from my bookmarks than it was when I was getting the emails. I think I’m hoping for Red Pottage or Greenbanks. Are you going to participate?

    1. I have read some of them, but Don Quixote is one I have not read. I know the story, of course, but don’t know what to expect from the book. I’m glad to hear that you like it.

  2. Another vote for Frost’s poems! And the Vicar of Wakefield was a fun read. I read The Idiot this year; I enjoyed it but wish I had more time to mull over some of its aspects as I was left feeling that I wasn’t sure if I “got it”

    Best of luck with your spin on Monday!

  3. Some fabulous books in your list.

    He’s not on my CC 5 yr list, but I’m exploring Frost this year too as my eldest son is studying him for his HSC.
    I’ll be watching out for your posts & discussions to help me get inspired (to inspire him!)
    🙂

  4. Hallo, Hallo! 🙂

    I am participating in my first tCC SPIN — the titles you’ve picked out of which I’d love to read myself are as follows:

    The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro
    Selected Poems by Robert Frost
    The Call of the Wild by Jack London
    Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier
    The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins
    Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray

    I actually put Rebecca on my SPIN list too! Isn’t that interesting!? I shared a book with Lost Generation Reader as well! We both picked a book by Anne Bronte! I fell in love with wanting to read both The Remains of the Day & Howard’s End after seeing both films years ago. Recently I caught The Remains of the Day on TCM (Turner Classic Movies) and I must admit, it did not end quite the way I was expecting it too! Previously the tape I borrowed from the library had expired right as the bus scene happened; I apparently painted in a better ending in my mind! lol Still keen to read the novels!

    Wilkie Collins interests me, but Rebecca simply has left me deeply curious about the story itself as I want to read books either based on this one and/or are re-told or re-imagined. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.