Day 1001: The Story of My Teeth

Cover for The Story of My TeethHi, all, apparently I actually published this article by mistake last week. It was supposed to come out today. So here it is again.

* * *

I enjoy the occasional experimental novel, especially one that plays with structure, but The Story of My Teeth was a bit too much for me. It begins with a fairly straightforward narrative, although a whimsical plot, but at each section does something different.

Gustavo (Highway) Sánchez Sánchez claims to be the world’s best auctioneer. He has accumulated a collection of teeth belonging to famous people and agrees to auction them off for the church. But his long-lost son Siddhartha shows up at the auction and things begin to get strange.

Perhaps I should have had more patience with this novel, because I quit reading it just before the New York Times review claimed it got really interesting. I stopped reading in “The Allegories,” and that shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone who knows me. I just got a feeling of terrific impatience and realized I wasn’t enjoying the novel. So, I stopped.

Related Posts

The Sunken Cathedral

A Visit from the Goon Squad

1Q84

2 thoughts on “Day 1001: The Story of My Teeth

  1. Naomi December 1, 2016 / 11:05 am

    I’ve heard mixed reviews about this book. I think I’ll just avoid it altogether!

    • whatmeread December 1, 2016 / 12:13 pm

      I don’t know. Someone more adventurous might like it better.

Leave a Reply

