Day 885: The Last Summer of the Camperdowns

Cover for The Last Summer of the CamperdownsHi, all, I just wanted to tell you before I get started that I began a new project, attempting to read all of the Man Booker Prize shortlisted books since 2010. See my new Man Booker Prize Project page for more information, and join me if you want to.

* * *

The Last Summer of the Camperdowns is one of those books that I made a note I’d like to read some time ago, but by the time I got to it, could not remember what it was about. When that happens, I don’t read the cover. I just plunge in. I was surprised to find myself reading a sort of modern gothic novel.

Riddle Camperdown is a 12-year-old girl spending the summer at her family’s dune-side house on Cape Cod in 1972. Her name says a lot about the eccentricity of her family, for she is named after Jimmy Riddle Hoffa (yes, that one), and her father sometimes calls her Jimmy. “Camp” Camperdown is a labor organizer, composer, and politician, a noisy brash, boisterous, charismatic true believer. His wife, Greer, seems a mismatch for him. She is a cool, chic ex-movie star with an acid tongue. Riddle, who adores her father, thinks her mother only cares about money and status.

Another of the couple’s regular arguments starts up when they learn Michael Devlin is returning to the area. Michael is a rich, privileged man who used to be Camp’s best friend, but an incident during World War II drove them apart. Riddle is also fascinated to learn that Michael was engaged to Greer and stood her up at the altar.

Riddle and Greer are avid riders, so when that afternoon they go over to see Greer’s friend Gin, Riddle wanders off to the yellow barn to see a mare with a foal. When she is in the barn, something horrible happens, something she doesn’t see but only hears. She thinks she hears someone or something being chased through the barn and then dragged back to the tack room. She is terrified, but just as she is getting the nerve to open the tack room door, Gin’s employee Gula comes out.

Riddle is already terrified of Gula, so she pretends she hasn’t heard anything. Inexplicably, though, she is too terrified to tell her parents.

Soon, they learn that Michael Devlin’s youngest son Charlie has disappeared. It doesn’t take long for Riddle to guess it was Charlie she heard in the barn. That night, the barn burns down with several horses in it.

As Riddle is repeatedly terrorized by Gula, her parents’ marriage seems more and more fraught. Michael Devlin begins threatening Camp’s political campaign with a tell-all book, and Camp fears what he sees as his wife’s attachment to Devlin. In the meantime, Riddle falls in love with Michael Devlin’s oldest son, Harry.

This novel is quite suspenseful, with a plot that is far more complex than it first seems. If there were two small things I didn’t quite buy, one was the extremeness of the Camperdowns’ arguments at first. The other was how long it took Riddle to tell the truth, considering how Gula was threatening her, even going into her room and leaving things. Although ultimately Riddle was also hiding the fact that she hadn’t told the truth right away, I would think she would be too scared not to tell.

Related Posts

The Little Friend

Once Upon a River

Swamplandia!

6 thoughts on “Day 885: The Last Summer of the Camperdowns

  1. Naomi April 15, 2016 / 2:46 pm

    I remember hearing about this book some time ago, but have forgotten about it since. It sounds good, but I would probably feel the same way about the fact that it took her so long to tell her parents. Then again, I was never so frightened by anything at that age.
    Your Man Booker project sounds like fun. I’ll be following with interest!

    • whatmeread April 15, 2016 / 2:51 pm

      I could see why she didn’t tell at first, sort of, but after he started doing things to scare her, I would think she would be more likely to tell her parents. That didn’t sit right with me.

  2. Carolyn O April 18, 2016 / 7:03 pm

    Can’t wait for your Man Booker project! And the premise of this one reminds me a bit of the movie Witness.

    • whatmeread April 19, 2016 / 7:26 am

      I guess it does, in a way, although the focus of Witness is more on the adults.

  3. Cecilia April 19, 2016 / 9:26 pm

    I love your Man Booker project as well! I’ve also been unofficially trying to read award books, though leaning a bit more toward the Pulitzer Prize. I may unofficially join you and perhaps make a goal to read at least one book from each year. I did pretty well with the 2013 list though am too intimidated to read The Luminaries after the various blog reviews I’ve read.

    • whatmeread April 20, 2016 / 7:25 am

      Oh, no, you should read it. It has some interesting structural choices, but mostly it is a great story.

Leave a Reply

