Day 866: Yuki Chan in Brontë Country

Cover for Yuki Chan in Bronte CountryYuki Chan is on a pilgrimage of sorts. Her mother died ten years ago when Yuki was 13, and just before that she made a trip to England. Yuki is trying to visit the places her mother visited, to feel closer to her and to try to figure out why she died. This pilgrimage has brought her to Haworth and a tour of the Brontë’s house.

Yuki thinks of herself as a psychic detective, but we also follow some of her other musings, most of them very peculiar. She is clearly an eccentric personality.

I wasn’t sure how much I related to Yuki as she performed her various experiments, for example, standing in the same place before the Haworth parsonage window where her mother appears in a photo. She has five photos that she uses to retrace her mother’s footsteps.

link to NetgalleyDuring her adventures, she befriends a teenage girl named Denny. Denny has a bit of a lawless demeanor that gets them into some adventures as she takes Yuki around the snowy landscape on her brother’s motorcycle.

Ultimately, this novel is touching, but it takes a while before we understand Yuki’s compulsions. I don’t think we get any insight to any of the characters except Yuki herself. I only moderately enjoyed this quirky novel.

Related Posts

We Need New Names

The Enchantment of Lily Dahl

Wit’s End

10 thoughts on “Day 866: Yuki Chan in Brontë Country

  1. Michelle March 16, 2016 / 11:58 am

    Nice review. I’ve got this waiting on my kindle to be read. I’m still a little intrigued to read it

  2. Carolyn O March 16, 2016 / 6:21 pm

    Is this a new book? I haven’t heard of it, and I do love a little Brontë action.

    • whatmeread March 17, 2016 / 7:24 am

      Yes, I think it is just out. The Brontë part of it is rather slight, though. You might prefer a book I’m reviewing in a few weeks, called Charlotte and Emily.

    • whatmeread March 17, 2016 / 7:24 am

      I have a review for that one coming up soon!

  3. Naomi March 17, 2016 / 8:07 am

    This sounds like a heart-warmer type of a book, and I love the cover. This is the first I’ve heard of it. Also looking forward to hearing about Jane Steele and Charlotte and Emily!

    • whatmeread March 17, 2016 / 8:30 am

      Maybe not a heart-warming book so much as quirky. My review for Jane Steele is scheduled for April 1 and Charlotte and Emily will probably be around April 26.

    • whatmeread March 17, 2016 / 8:31 am

      You know what? I think I’m going to move Jane Steele up, since the book is coming out on Friday. I think I’ll move it to next week.

      • Naomi March 17, 2016 / 1:19 pm

        Good idea!

Leave a Reply

