Day 865: Arctic Summer

Cover for Arctic SummerFrom its description, I thought that Arctic Summer might be one of the most interesting books I’m reading from the Walter Scott Prize list. It is described as a fictional biography of E. M. Forster, particularly leading up to his publication of A Passage to India.

That is certainly the time period the novel covers, and A Passage to India is one of its preoccupations. But the novel spends most of its time on Forster’s obsession with his homosexuality and his desire for sexual experience. As I’m not all that interested in reading about anyone’s obsession with sexuality, this novel was not the best fit for me.

The novel begins in 1912 on Forster’s first trip to India. While he is there, he will visit a good friend, Masood, and he has hopes that his life will open up, particularly in regard to sex. At the age of 33, he is still a virgin, his fear of disgrace holding him back from expressing his sexuality at home. Perhaps in India he will have an experience, maybe with Masood, whom he loves.

Unfortunately, Forster, who goes by Morgan, has a tendency to fall in love with heterosexual men and prefers men from a lower class, so nothing quite works out the way he wishes. Even when he finally has some encounters, years later, what he is actually looking for is love, which he never finds. The novel follows him during the long gestation of his novel about India, back to England, to Alexandria during World War I, and back to India again. During this time, his most significant relationships are with two friends who do not return his feelings.

The novel is extremely well written, and Galgut deeply characterizes Morgan, if not the other characters. It did make me wonder if any person could be so relentlessly focused on sex, although of course he is also lonely. It also made me wonder how, if he really felt this unrelenting focus, he ever got anything written. Certainly this novel makes you feel for Forster—he was a sad man.

Related Posts

The Master

Under the Wide and Starry Sky

Studio Saint-Ex

 

7 thoughts on “Day 865: Arctic Summer

  1. Carolyn O March 14, 2016 / 11:46 am

    Interesting. This makes me want to read Maurice, actually.

    • whatmeread March 14, 2016 / 11:47 am

      I think I read it a long time ago. He had written it, I believe, before the time period covered by this novel.

  2. Helen March 15, 2016 / 4:57 am

    I have just finished reading this book, but my review isn’t ready yet. It was certainly well written but I agree that there was too much focus on his sexual relationships. It has made me want to read A Passage to India, though.

    • whatmeread March 15, 2016 / 7:28 am

      I read it a long time ago. Maybe I should revisit it.

Leave a Reply

