Fourth Anniversary! 10 Best Books of the Year!

Cover for The WakeAs on my previous blog anniversaries, here is my annual post of the 10 best books I read this year. As always, this list involves some tough choices. For example, if I read more than one terrific book by the same author during the year, I only pick one, and that choice may be fairly arbitrary.

These books aren’t listed in any particular order, just the order that I reviewed them. They can be from any genre and from any time period. There are some classics as well as new books on this year’s list. Again, unusually, this year’s list contains one nonfiction book (The Warmth of Other Suns) and one book of short stories (Family Furnishings).

14 thoughts on “Fourth Anniversary! 10 Best Books of the Year!

  1. Cecilia January 25, 2016 / 8:11 am

    I will look these up! Happy anniversary!

  2. Carolyn O January 25, 2016 / 10:08 am

    Happy anniversary and what a good list!

    • whatmeread January 25, 2016 / 10:08 am

      Thanks! I read some great books this past year.

  3. Geoff W January 25, 2016 / 1:22 pm

    Happy Anniversary! I haven’t read any of those books, I’ll have to go read your responses to them.

    • whatmeread January 25, 2016 / 1:23 pm

      Well, thanks! I hope you decide to try one.

  4. Naomi January 25, 2016 / 2:59 pm

    So many of these are still on my to-read list, but I did manage to read Euphoria which was on my best-of list last year.
    Happy 4th! 🙂

  5. Helen January 25, 2016 / 3:09 pm

    Happy fourth anniversary! That’s a great list of books. I enjoyed A God in Ruins last year too, and I definitely want to try reading The Wake.

    • whatmeread January 25, 2016 / 3:10 pm

      I think you’d really enjoy The Wake. It was my favorite book of this past year.

  6. bookbuffoonery August 23, 2016 / 10:08 am

    I just finished The Death of Bees and it was a great book, but very macabre! I love how it explores the theme of family.

Leave a Reply

