Day 835: Ross Poldark

Cover for Ross PoldarkYears ago I used to enjoy the odd Winston Graham novel, but it was his crime novels rather than his historical novels I read, Marnie and The Walking Stick. I didn’t get interested in the Poldarks until the recent Masterpiece rework of the series.

Ross Poldark returns to his home in Cornwall from the war in America to find nothing as he expected. His father has died, and his slovenly servants have not kept up the house or the farm. Someone has set about a rumor that he died, and the girl he loves, Elizabeth Chynoweth, is engaged to his cousin Francis.

Ross sets about trying to put his property in order and to deal with his feelings about Elizabeth. He investigates whether he can get one of the mines on his property back into order. He also involves himself in the problems of his tenants.

While he is at a fair to buy livestock, he plucks an urchin out of a fight about a dog. Although the child is dressed as a boy, she is a girl, Demelza. When Ross finds her father has abused her, he agrees not to return her to her family and takes her as a kitchen maid.

Ross Poldark is an interesting historical novel dealing with the problems of the time in Cornwall. I don’t know much about Cornwall, which is associated in my mind with many of the novels of Daphne du Maurier. Although this novel certainly involved me, I found myself unable to separate it from the Masterpiece series. For example, although Demelza is described as dark, I still kept picturing her as a redhead. Since the Masterpiece series is based on the first two books, I’ll have to wait until the third book before I can begin to separate it in my mind. Certainly, the first novel seems just as effective as the series, which has so far followed the novel closely.

Related Posts

Castle Dor

Daphne du Maurier: The Secret Life of the Renowned Storyteller

Treasure Island

5 thoughts on “Day 835: Ross Poldark

  1. Helen January 14, 2016 / 2:31 pm

    I read this last year in preparation for watching the new series and I really enjoyed it, but still haven’t got round to picking up the second book. I must read it soon. I’ve never looked into what else Winston Graham wrote, but I might be interested in trying one of his crime novels too.

    • whatmeread January 14, 2016 / 2:33 pm

      The only two crime books he wrote, Marnie and The Walking Stick, were both made into movies. I can’t really remember right now if the movies stayed close to the book or not. I believe there were major differences in Marnie. I have finished the third book in the Poldark series but am way behind in my postings.Or, I should say, I write my postings six weeks ahead or so, so right now I am posting about books I read several months ago. There is always a delay.

    • whatmeread January 14, 2016 / 2:34 pm

      In some ways, I wish I’d read the books before seeing the series, but now I am ahead of the series.

  2. Carolyn O January 16, 2016 / 4:32 pm

    Six weeks ahead?!?!?! You are wonder woman.

    • whatmeread January 19, 2016 / 6:01 pm

      It is sometimes limiting. In order to be flexible, I sometimes have to renumber all my drafts.

Leave a Reply

