Day 834: Three Board Books

As I often do when I buy my young relatives a book, I read it quickly to include a review on my blog. Today I have reviews of three board books I bought for my two-year-old great-nephew.

Cover of Hooray for FishHooray for Fish! by Lucy Cousins
Of the three, Hooray for Fish! has the simplest vocabulary. It seems intended for babies or new readers. It has cheerful pictures of different types of fish, but it doesn’t really have a plot.

Cover for TumfordTumford the Terrible by Nancy Tillman

Tumford is a cute, chubby cat who gets into trouble. This book contains a moral about saying you’re sorry for your mistakes. The text is a little more complicated than that of Hooray for Fish, including some short, rhyming paragraphs. The pictures are beautiful.

Cover for Secret SeahorseSecret Seahorse by Stella Blackstone and Clare Beaton
Secret Seahorse has cute, bright pictures and rhyming text. A seahorse is hidden in each picture, providing some extra fun. These undersea pictures are also bright and appear to be photographs of scenes made from cloth, buttons, and sequins.

 

The creativity of these books is more in the artwork than any originality or deftness of the story. I might compare these books to Little Bird, which had almost no words but is bright and funny. It’s true that Little Bird is a picture book rather than a board book, though. I have some pictures books to review at a later time, and the authors seem to be able to do more with them.

Related Posts

Little Bird

Red Knit Cap Girl

The Leaf Men

 

4 thoughts on “Day 834: Three Board Books

  1. Naomi January 13, 2016 / 6:17 pm

    Very cute.It makes me wish my kids were still little enough to read these to. 🙂

    • whatmeread January 14, 2016 / 7:29 am

      Yes, they’re cute. I didn’t get a chance to read the books I sent to the older kids for Christmas, though.

  2. Carolyn O January 16, 2016 / 4:30 pm

    I’m going to look for that Tumford book for H. He adores cats.

    • whatmeread January 19, 2016 / 6:00 pm

      It was cute. I’m sure he’ll like it.

Leave a Reply

