Classics Club Spin #10!

Cover for The Remains of the DayJust announced was the first Classics Club Spin since April. For the spin, we pick 20 entries from our Classics Club list, and then the Classics Club picks a number. We read the book corresponding to that number and post a review on October 23.

Unfortunately, since I always enjoy the spin, this may be the last in which I can participate with my current list, because I have so diligently read my classics that even though I have more than 20 still on my list, that is only because I have read them but not yet posted my reviews. I have exactly 20 unread books left, so I will be short for the next spin. If I want to participate, I will have to leave off some numbers and hope they’re not picked, or post the same books twice, or something. Any suggestions? I don’t want to change my list until I finish it.

Here is my list for Spin #10! My last 20 books! (My goal was to read all 50 by February 13, 2019. I think I’m going to make it.)

  1. The Vicar of Wakefield
  2. Henry VI Pt. II
  3. Night
  4. A Wreath of Roses
  5. Selected Poems by Robert Frost
  6. The Idiot
  7. Ada
  8. That Lady
  9. Beloved
  10. The Remains of the Day
  11. The True Heart
  12. The Beggar Maid
  13. Troy Chimneys
  14. Red Pottage
  15. Rebecca
  16. The Moonstone
  17. Far From the Madding Crowd
  18. Vanity Fair
  19. Bleak House
  20. Henry VI Pt III (I hope they don’t pick this number, because if they do, I’ll have to read Henry VI Pt II, too!)

Update: The selected number was #5, aargh!

8 thoughts on “Classics Club Spin #10!

  1. TJ @ MyBookStrings August 24, 2015 / 9:23 am

    I love Robert Frost’s poems, so I think you got a good spin result. I got Three Men in a Boat. I hope I find it as funny as everyone else.
    I think there’s nothing wrong with repeating titles on a list. That’s what I did this time around, since I wanted the result to be one of the seven classics I plan to read before the end of this year.

    • whatmeread August 24, 2015 / 9:28 am

      It just takes a lot more time to read an entire book of poems than most novels. Thanks for your suggestion about repeating titles. It seems a little like cheating, because you can post the ones you want to read more often than the ones you’re not looking forward to as much, but I guess I’ll have to do something like that.

    • whatmeread August 24, 2015 / 9:26 am

      No, it’s just a whole book of poems. I am trying to expand my poetry reading, but I find it difficult to read a bunch of poems at one time.

      • Lory @ Emerald City Book Review August 27, 2015 / 2:31 pm

        I know what you mean. That’s probably why I didn’t put any books of poetry on my list! But maybe you could do one or two per day and make the target date?

      • whatmeread August 31, 2015 / 7:24 am

        Maybe something like that.

  2. Helen August 24, 2015 / 3:08 pm

    Congratulations on reaching your last 20 books. I still have 45 to read, but I started with 100 and I have until March 2017 so I’m not too worried yet! I hope you enjoy the Robert Frost book. I would like to read more poetry but I usually struggle with it so I didn’t put any on my Classics Club list.

  3. whatmeread August 24, 2015 / 3:10 pm

    I struggle with it, too. I was too chicken to try to start with a list of 100 books. Good for you! Maybe after I finish this list, I’ll try a longer one.

Leave a Reply

