Classics Spin #9!

Cover for The MoonstoneI always enjoy the Classics Club spin, where the club invites members to post a list of 20 book from their Classics Club lists, draws a number, and then you promise to read the book corresponding to that number by the deadline. Unfortunately, the date for posting that list always seems to fall on the same day as Literary Wives club, so I’m posting it a little early. Here is my list, and I will read the book chosen by May 15.

  1. The Vicar of Wakefield by Oliver Goldsmith
  2. Henry VI Pt I by William Shakespeare (chosen by the spin)
  3. The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  4. The Call of the Wild by Jack London
  5. Night by Elie Wiesel
  6. The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins
  7. Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray
  8. Troy Chimneys by Margaret Kennedy
  9. Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy
  10. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
  11. The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro
  12. The Beggar Maid by Alice Munro
  13. Ada by Vladimir Nabokov
  14. Red Pottage by Mary Cholmondeley
  15. A Wreath of Roses by Elizabeth Taylor
  16. Bleak House by Charles Dickens
  17. Middlemarch by George Eliot
  18. O Pioneers! by Willa Cather
  19. The True Heart by Sylvia Townsend Warner
  20. Beloved by Toni Morrison
18 thoughts on “Classics Spin #9!

  1. My Book Strings April 1, 2015 / 8:06 am

    I just read Call of the Wild and was positively surprised by it. And I love O Pioneers! Whatever book you get, I hope you’ll enjoy it!

    • whatmeread April 1, 2015 / 8:09 am

      Thanks! I have a lot of re-reads on the list, but I haven’t read Call of the Wild yet.

  2. Lynn April 1, 2015 / 9:12 am

    Ooohhh! Glad to see someone else has not read Rebecca! Or is it a re-read for you? You’ve given me some ideas to expand my own classics TBR list! 🙂 Fun to see what we all end up reading!

    • whatmeread April 1, 2015 / 9:14 am

      No, it’s a re-read. I have read a lot of the books on my list that I never read before, so now most of my books are re-reads. I guess I shouldn’t have picked so many! You’ll enjoy Rebecca when you get to it, I think.

  3. Walker Louise April 1, 2015 / 9:42 am

    What a great list! Thomas Hardy has written some amazing books… Alan Rickman narrated Far From the Madding Crowd if you like audiobooks and AR. I hope you enjoy what you read 🙂

    • whatmeread April 1, 2015 / 9:46 am

      Thanks! I love Thomas Hardy. It’s been a long time since I’ve read this one.

  4. Cleo @ Classical Carousel April 1, 2015 / 2:27 pm

    You have so many great choices on your list! I read The Vicar of Wakefield eons ago and loved it ….. I would so enjoy a re-read. I have O Pioneers! on my list too. You can’t go wrong with Cather. I hope you get the book you’d like to read and have a great spin!

    • whatmeread April 1, 2015 / 2:40 pm

      Vicar is one I haven’t read. I read O Pioneers! but a long time ago. I like Cather, too. Good luck on your spin!

  5. Karen K. April 1, 2015 / 11:19 pm

    Bleak House and Middlemarch are just wonderful, I wish I could read them again for the first time (though to be honest, the first 100 pages of Middlemarch are a little dry. But it’s worth sticking with!). And Bleak House is just BRILLIANT.

    I’ve only read a couple by Hardy, but I have Return of the Native on my list. I also want to read Far From the Madding Crowd, mostly because the movie is coming out soon.

    • whatmeread April 2, 2015 / 7:26 am

      Those three are re-reads for me. I’m looking forward to them!

  6. lostgenerationreader April 3, 2015 / 9:29 am

    The Remains of the Day! Bleak House! I’m so excited for you and this list. I hope you get something you want to read, though it’s hard to find a bad book on this list.

    • whatmeread April 3, 2015 / 2:33 pm

      I know! I’m looking forward to it!

  7. edtripp April 3, 2015 / 5:26 pm

    Is The Idiot a re-read for you? I’m just about to finish Crime and Punishment and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it. I wonder if Dostoyevsky’s other stuff is as enjoyable.

    • whatmeread April 4, 2015 / 3:12 pm

      Yes, it’s a re-read, but I read it so long ago, I can hardly remember it. I like Dostoevsky, though. I read The Brothers Karamazov more recently, and that’s a good one.

  8. Brona April 4, 2015 / 7:55 pm

    I recently read The Buried Giant and would love to reread Remains of the Day – they have a similar emotional tenor.

    Good luck with the spin tomorrow.

    • whatmeread April 6, 2015 / 7:26 am

      I haven’t heard of The Buried Giant. I’ll find out about it.

  9. Carolyn O April 6, 2015 / 9:55 pm

    So many good ones here! Can’t wait to see what you’re going to read!

    • whatmeread April 7, 2015 / 7:28 am

      It’s Henry VI Pt I! Not my first choice, but it should be interesting.

Leave a Reply

