Third Anniversary: 10 Best Books of the Year!

Cover for The LuminariesThis weekend is the third anniversary of this blog. As I have done the first two years, I have put together a list of what I consider the ten best books I reviewed this year. To get the list down to ten books, I had to make some tough decisions. For example, if I picked more than one book by the same author as a Best Book during the year, I will only put one of them on the list, and which one I pick may be fairly arbitrary. They are not listed in the order of preference but in the order I reviewed them. This year’s list is unusual for me, because it contains one book of poetry (The World’s Wife) and one nonfiction book (Giving Up the Ghost).

21 thoughts on “Third Anniversary: 10 Best Books of the Year!

  1. themisanthropologist January 23, 2015 / 7:53 am

    Happy Anniversary! And yes, I agree with Luminaries! A truly wonderful book!

    • whatmeread January 23, 2015 / 8:04 am

      If I had to pick a favorite, that would be it.

      • themisanthropologist January 23, 2015 / 8:05 am

        So far, it’s my second favorite Booker Prize winner!

      • whatmeread January 23, 2015 / 8:06 am

        Oh, yeah? What’s your first favorite? I haven’t made a practice of trying to read them until just recently, so I may have missed it.

      • themisanthropologist January 23, 2015 / 8:08 am

        I think my favorite is probably Wolf Hall (and Bringing Up the Bodies, but I just count that as a continuation of Wolf Hall). A friend asked me recently which was my favorite, so I’ve had some time to think about it 🙂

      • whatmeread January 23, 2015 / 8:10 am

        Oh yes, Wolf Hall was in my 10 Best Books list, I think two years ago and Bring Up the Bodies last year, I am pretty sure. Wolf Hall is my favorite! The third one is coming out soon, I believe.

      • themisanthropologist January 23, 2015 / 8:12 am

        I hope so! Btw…the Wolf Hall mini-series aired its first episode 2 days ago on BBC Two…if you’re interested!

      • whatmeread January 23, 2015 / 8:15 am

        Oh, dear, I guess I’ll have to wait. I’m in the states and just get BBC America. Maybe I can find it from Netflix in a while. How exciting! I hate to have to wait!

  2. Cecilia January 23, 2015 / 7:59 am

    Happy anniversary! And very interesting to see your list. Several of them are on my TR list as well. Best wishes for lots more good reading this year 🙂

    • whatmeread January 23, 2015 / 8:05 am

      You have some great reading ahead of you, then. Thanks!

  3. Naomi January 23, 2015 / 10:30 am

    Congratulations on 3 years, Kay! The only book I have read on your list is Maddaddam, but it’s a good one! I am happy to see it here. Also, there are some on your list that I just haven’t read yet. I can’t wait to get to them!

    • whatmeread January 23, 2015 / 10:34 am

      It will be worth it, I think. Thanks for the congrats!

  4. My Book Strings January 23, 2015 / 10:35 am

    Congratulations. I hope there will be lots more great books and book reviews to come. I haven’t read a single book on your list, but they are all on my TBR pile. 🙂

    • whatmeread January 23, 2015 / 10:39 am

      Hah! Sounds like a great pile!

  5. WordsAndPeace January 24, 2015 / 12:10 am

    Congratulations on your 3rd blogiversary! And nice list! I hope to finally read Stoner this year

    • whatmeread January 24, 2015 / 8:12 am

      Thanks! I hope you like Stoner.

  6. Deb January 24, 2015 / 9:32 pm

    Congratulations on another year of reviews!

Leave a Reply

