A Little Blogging Fun

Inspired by the yearly summary by Alina of Literary Vittles, I decided to take a look at my blog’s search terms for the past year. The search terms are what people entered into search engines that brought them to my site. Although most of them made sense, I found a few things of interest or amusement.

Information No One Will Find on My Blog

Cover for Still LifeA few search terms fell into the category of things you won’t find on my blog, sometimes just because of spelling errors but also because I don’t give away key plot points or they’re about subjects I don’t cover on my blog:

  • “Desmond Seward wife”: okay, I have one book by Desmond Seward, but I have no idea who he’s married to.
  • “Villan in Peaches for Father Francis”: do they mean “villain”?
  • “How is Mary Stewart’s life reflect in her books”: good question
  • “What happens to Peter and Clara in Louise Penny’s Still Life” or “In the Louise Penny series are Clara and Peter reunited”: I’ll never tell.
  • “Nonfiction: a biography of Daphine du Morea”: I DO have one of Daphne Du Maurier.
  • “The secret life of the renowned storyteller”: this is mysterious, isn’t it? Does anyone understand this one?
  • “The Orphan Choir ending. I don’t get it”: I’m not going to explain it to you.
  • “Why are Rose’s fingerprints switched in the Pinkie Brown murder in The Red Road”: not telling
  • “Unbelievable happy ending in Lisette’s List”: I don’t think I found it unbelievable.
  • “All the Light We Cannot See hard ships”: okay, maybe I’m not being nice to point this one out, but I don’t think there are very many ships in this book. A few.

Terms That Don’t Seem Like They Should Lead to My Blog

These are terms that make me wonder how the people ended up at my blog:

  • to.a.daytrader
  • history of sexual orgy in Istanbul
  • cascade asa dez deal: when I translated this, I was even more confused

Cover for SaltMost Common Search Terms

This is an interesting list to me because with a couple of exceptions it does not reflect which books are being heavily read on my blog:

  • Dunnett “The Game of Kings” Druon “The Iron King” (yes, quite a few searches worded exactly the same way)
  • Walt Longmire and Vic Moretti relationship or Walt Longmire and Vic Moretti or Longmire
  • Erlandur
  • List of historical fiction novels
  • Saint Gilbert Entre les Loups
  • Charlie Zailer or Charlie Zailer Simon Waterhouse
  • All the Light We Cannot See ending
  • Candlemass Road
  • The Cruelest Journey
  • Luloecen
  • Abigail Adams
  • Is Salt: A World History a microhistory
  • Melisites
  • Burning heretics England Chaucer

Top Fifteen for This Year

Cover for This Rough MagicHere are the 15 most viewed books this year:

  • This Rough Magic (This has been the top book since I reviewed it, which I find really odd, although it is a good book.)
  • The Loon Feather
  • The Bones of Paris
  • I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
  • All the Light We Cannot See
  • King Hereafter
  • The Leaf Men
  • The World’s Wife
  • The Invisible Woman: The Story of Charles Dickens and Nelly Ternan
  • The Invention of Wings
  • Turn of the Tide
  • Wife 22
  • Anne of Green Gables
  • My Life in Middlemarch
  • Neverland: J. M. Barrie, the du Mauriers, and the Dark Side of Peter Pan
4 thoughts on “A Little Blogging Fun

  1. Cecilia January 2, 2015 / 7:47 pm

    I always enjoy posts about the weird search terms, and I too have gotten self conscious whenever I google something a little offbeat, in the fears that I’ll end up making someone else chuckle! I like the orgy in Istanbul…

    • whatmeread January 3, 2015 / 10:22 am

      I think they’re fun, too. I was disappointed not to have more weird ones.

  2. Naomi January 2, 2015 / 10:13 pm

    That was fun! I especially find it interesting to see which posts are viewed the most. It is rarely what I would expect. I have also had some funny search terms, but I don’t think I would have gathered enough for a post like this. Maybe in a couple of years…

    • whatmeread January 3, 2015 / 10:23 am

      You might be surprised. I didn’t think of doing this until someone did it last year, and after the first year I had even stranger results!

Leave a Reply

