Day 610: How the Light Gets In

Cover for How the Light Gets InI didn’t realize I had never reviewed this book, even though I finished it almost exactly a year ago, until I started to post a review of its sequel. So, you’ll have to forgive me. I’m working from memory.

This novel serves as a culmination of an ongoing plot from the very first of the series. Inspector Gamache’s enemies in law enforcement have gutted his department and alienated the loyalty of his friend and lieutenant Jean-Guy Beauvoir through encouraging his drug addiction. Now they are planning to destroy Gamache.

In the meantime, Myrna Landers has summoned him to the picturesque village of Three Pines to look for a friend who has disappeared, Constance Pineault. Myrna is cagey about the true identity of the friend, but eventually Gamache finds out that she is very famous, the last surviving sister of a set of quintuplets. Gamache and his department are also dealing with a possible terrorist threat. All of this action takes place over a snowy Christmas.

The end of How the Light Gets In is extremely dramatic, but it left me wondering if the novel was intended as the end of the series. (Hint: I wondered this at the time, but notice that I referred to a sequel.) As always, it is complexly plotted and colorful in detail.

Every time Penny describes Three Pines, I want to go see it. Also, Penny’s books continue to win my award for the most beautiful covers, ever.

5 thoughts on “Day 610: How the Light Gets In

  1. LordOfTheReads November 11, 2014 / 3:39 pm

    Tempted to purchase. What kind of style would you say Louise’s writing is?

    • whatmeread November 12, 2014 / 8:34 am

      That’s a difficult question. She is very descriptive. A lot of her themes have to do with art, so I would imagine she has an art background. The novel is well written, but I wouldn’t say that she has an obtrusive style that I can describe.

      • LordOfTheReads November 12, 2014 / 1:41 pm

        Good enough for me! It’s going on my buy list. Sounds like a nice read for the winter for me.

      • whatmeread November 12, 2014 / 1:46 pm

        If you haven’t read her, you might want to start with her earlier books, because a lot of this one is devoted to the culmination of an ongoing plot. I think her first Gamache mystery is called Still Life.

      • LordOfTheReads November 12, 2014 / 2:25 pm

        Saviour. I’ve jumped mid-way into ongoing plots numerous times. I’ll see about reviewing Still Life at some point and I’ll link you up!

Leave a Reply

