Day 574: Little Bee

Cover for Little BeeLittle Bee begins her story from a detention center in England, where she has been held for two years. During this time, she has been learning British English in the hopes she will be allowed to stay. After another girl seduces a guard, Little Bee is released with her and two other girls, with no papers or money, into the depths of the English countryside. Bee calls the only person she knows in England, Andrew O’Rourke, a man she met on a beach in Nigeria two years before.

Sarah O’Rourke is getting ready to attend her husband’s funeral. He had been depressed ever since that day on the beach. Then, suddenly, he committed suicide. When someone arrives at the door, Sarah is surprised to find Little Bee.

Eventually, we find out what happened that day on the beach—how Little Bee lost her sister and Sarah her finger. Sarah is posed with a problem. What can she do about Little Bee to help her stay protected in England? To the British government, Nigeria is a safe country from which Little Bee does not need refuge. The government does not know or is unwilling to learn that the oil companies are murdering entire villages to get rights to the oil beneath them.

I found Little Bee to be affecting all right, and it informed me of a situation I did not know existed. With all the bad news about various countries in Africa lately, I had not heard mention of Nigeria (at least not in this respect).

A few people have written reviews complaining about the ending. Perhaps they like their endings nicely wrapped up. I don’t mind ambiguity, but I did feel sometimes as if I was being manipulated. In addition, Little Bee’s voice, although enchanting and original, is not consistent enough. At times she is amazingly naive, sometimes convincingly so, others not so much. It is some of her more sophisticated knowledge that occasionally doesn’t ring true with the character Cleave has created and can’t be explained by two years of reading classics.

In any case, it is Sarah’s stunning naivety that is more unbelievable, both on the beach that day and when she decides to interview people in Nigeria instead of immediately contacting a lawyer or her embassy in an attempt to save Bee.

With all these caveats, I enjoyed the book, though, and give it a qualified recommendation.

6 thoughts on “Day 574: Little Bee

  1. Geri, The History Lady September 2, 2014 / 1:09 pm

    I loved this book. It stayed with me long after I’d finished reading it. Haunting, fantastic, sad, hopeful…

    • whatmeread September 2, 2014 / 1:33 pm

      Yes, I enjoyed the distinctive voice of Bee.

  2. Emily J. September 2, 2014 / 2:17 pm

    I really liked this book too. I liked that it was fun and interesting, but also informative about some of the very real problems in the world.

    • whatmeread September 2, 2014 / 3:49 pm

      Yes, I think that was a very important part of it.

  3. Carolyn O September 2, 2014 / 4:08 pm

    I have this one on my shelf — thank you for reviewing it, because I had no clue what it’s about, and that kept me from picking it up.

    • whatmeread September 3, 2014 / 7:32 am

      In many ways it is really enjoyable, but also a little frustrating.

Leave a Reply

