Day 561: Lucky Us

Cover for Lucky UsI was enchanted by Away, so I was excited to find that Amy Bloom had another book out. This novel is good but does not live up to the other.

Eva Acton has not met her older half-sister Iris until Eva’s mother dumps her on the front porch of her father’s home. Up until then, Eva worshipped her father, but she begins to see that he has his flaws, a second family being a major one of them. Another is stealing the money Iris wins in talent competitions.

Once Iris has managed to hide enough money from her father, she and Eva take off for Hollywood, where Iris is determined to make it big. At that point, Eva’s formal education comes to a halt, when she is 14.

Iris is beginning to have some success when her chances are ruined by betrayal and scandal. The girls, their friend Francisco, and their father, who has joined them upon premature news of Iris’ success, set off for New York.

This Depression-era novel is written in a light, jaunty tone, narrated mostly from Eva’s point of view punctuated by letters. For after a lot has happened, the girls are eventually separated.

The conflict of the novel is around some choices Iris makes, causing Eva to take on responsibilities and struggles that Iris has initiated. Iris commits several unconscionable acts.

http://www.netgalley.comI cared about what would happen to Eva and some likable friends, but I felt that the end of the novel was too easy on Iris. I also felt that this novel lacked the originality of Away. It is interesting, though, because I was never sure what would happen next, and the narrative style has its charms.

 

12 thoughts on “Day 561: Lucky Us

  1. Naomi July 30, 2014 / 12:54 pm

    Did you get a good feel for the Depression era in this book? Also, it sounds like I should try Away instead of this one.

  2. Ariel Price July 30, 2014 / 10:11 pm

    I’m glad you liked this one more than I did. 🙂

    • whatmeread July 31, 2014 / 7:36 am

      Well, maybe not much more. I feel like I’m always hating the books I get from Netgalley (not always, but I am often indifferent to them), so maybe I was nicer than I would have been.

      • Ariel Price July 31, 2014 / 7:44 am

        Yeah, honestly I’ve stopped all Netgalley and Edelweiss until I get caught up on the physical books I have at home.

      • whatmeread July 31, 2014 / 7:51 am

        I’ve just been trying to be very picky and only ask for books when I’m familiar with the author. But yeah, I have a ton of books at home. Many of mine aren’t recent, though, because I tend to shop in discount book stores, so Netgalley is what I use for the newer books. You probably have lots of new books, though, because don’t you work for a publisher?

      • Ariel Price July 31, 2014 / 7:54 am

        I work for a K-12 professional development publisher, so all of the books I’m working on are non-fiction and for teachers. 🙂 But I have a lot of newer fiction books at home because my best friend worked in a bookstore up until a few months ago and she passed on ARCs to me. But as soon as I read these, I’ll have to go back to Netgalley and the other methods.

      • whatmeread July 31, 2014 / 8:11 am

        Ah! Well, that’s a nice connection to have. Actually, I think that working in publishing for schools would be interesting.

      • Ariel Price July 31, 2014 / 8:31 am

        It definitely is! I love my job. 🙂 Honestly, I wouldn’t trade it for a life in the fiction world. I feel like I can still enjoy fiction because I’m not working on it all day.

      • whatmeread July 31, 2014 / 8:35 am

        That’s a great point!

  3. Cecilia August 6, 2014 / 8:26 am

    Good to know. I keep seeing this book around and I was wondering how good it is. I didn’t know she had another (better) book. I will look that one up.

    • whatmeread August 6, 2014 / 10:15 am

      I read Away quite a few years ago, but I remember really liking it.

Leave a Reply

