Day 500: Little Bird

Cover for Little BirdLittle Bird is a simple picture book about small things. A man drives a big red truck up to the edge of a cliff and lets out a flock of brightly colored birds.

“Some days are different,” the book tells us, and the man finds one small black bird still in the truck. He tries to get the little bird to fly away with the others.

The illustrations by Albertine are simply drawn and brilliantly colored. They are a joy to look at.

illustration from Little Bird
Getting the bird to fly

The text is sparse, perhaps less than 50 words in the entire book. “There are no greater treasures than the little things,” it says.

This book is a gem for small children, who will love the pictures and the charming story. Adults will enjoy reading it to them.

14 thoughts on “Day 500: Little Bird

    • whatmeread April 8, 2014 / 1:48 pm

      Oh! I didn’t even notice! Thanks! It’s not exactly my 500th day, because I only number my reviews, so that I can keep track of my “week,” which I count as five reviews, whether it takes a week or not. But it’s my 500th review. I guess that’s a big deal.

      • Ariel Price April 8, 2014 / 1:50 pm

        I think that’s pretty cool! I’m only at 229 posts, and that’s all posts – not just reviews. I’m just impressed you can do 5 reviews in a week!

      • whatmeread April 8, 2014 / 1:55 pm

        Well, I don’t always, and eventually I’ll catch up with myself and not be able to.

      • Cecilia April 8, 2014 / 9:57 pm

        Wow! Yes, that’s huge. It also means you’ve read 500 books during this span of time. I’d love to make that kind of progress.

      • whatmeread April 9, 2014 / 7:33 am

        Actually, it just means I’ve reviewed that many, since I started out with three years of book journals in which I had made notes about all the books I read. Unfortunately, I only have about a month’s worth left, and then you’ll really see how many books I read a week!

      • Cecilia April 9, 2014 / 10:16 am

        Ha!

      • whatmeread April 9, 2014 / 10:19 am

        I know, right? I’m going to be in a fix then. I might have to start reviewing short stories once a week or something. I hate to post less, because my number of reviewers only grows slowly, and it seems like the less frequently I post the fewer views I get. Carolyn said she doesn’t pay attention to views, but she probably has a lot bigger audience than I do. It counts for Netgalley, for example.

      • Cecilia April 9, 2014 / 10:47 am

        I do hate that pressure…I was nervous when I was traveling because I couldn’t really post, and I didn’t have the energy to plan and schedule posts ahead of time. Would you be interested in writing non-book review posts (e.g., posts about authors, reading habits, etc.)? Short stories is also a great idea. Earlier in the year I had toyed with the idea of reading and reviewing one short story a week (I think someone is hosting that reading challenge somewhere). I am definitely interested in short stories and I imagine many others are too.

      • whatmeread April 9, 2014 / 11:15 am

        Those are some good ideas. I don’t know if I want to interview authors (and haven’t had the opportunity), because I often don’t find the interviews very interesting (although Nancy Pearl has some great video ones), but writing about authors, say, on their birthdays, might be good. I have a problem with thinking of topics, which isn’t a problem with reviews, but I am also not very self-revealing. I don’t have too much interest in talking about myself in a blog, partly because I’m so bad at it (my college instructor had to rewrite my personal essay for my graduate school application!) and partly because I was brought up in the Midwest where people don’t discuss personal things except with close friends! Also, I usually don’t think other people would be interested. So, I don’t know–reading habits? I’m not sure what I would say. But authors, yeah, I can see that. Thanks for the ideas! It would be a good idea if I could make a plan soon so that it won’t be so obvious when I run out of books, or maybe if I am occasionally posting on something else, I won’t run out of books.

      • Cecilia April 9, 2014 / 11:22 am

        I do remember your saying that you don’t like to get personal on the blog, which is completely understandable. I was just thinking that you could do a reading/books-related blog – anything and everything related to books and reading, and that would keep your options open but still within a limited topic 🙂

      • whatmeread April 9, 2014 / 11:27 am

        Yeah, something for me to think about. Thanks!

  1. Alina (literaryvittles) April 8, 2014 / 1:54 pm

    hehe i recognize this book 🙂 I’m glad you were able to find a copy in English! it’s just darling, isn’t it?

    • whatmeread April 8, 2014 / 1:56 pm

      Yes! I knew I got it from your post on Albertine!

Leave a Reply

